Maniac Magee Mini-lesson

I hope you all enjoyed my mini-lesson on Maniac Magee. It was so great and insightful to see how you guys illustrated your family. Some drew their family in a setting (e.g. having dinner, watching TV), some wrote their family names in flower petals, each flower representing a group of people. It was also interesting to who or what was considered family, one student included their characters they create in their fiction writing as a part of their family, another student included friends and even family members who were deceased. ImageImage

I loved reading your comments and suggests. There was a common thread in the reflections asking to tie the activity to the text. I think it’s important for students to establish their opinions on a unit before entering it. Asking students the essential questions before a unit can help also the teacher on grouping students with different or similar views. It can also help to determine how much knowledge students have on the unit topic. It terms of a unit for Maniac Magee having the students illustrate their family is a fun, relaxing project. I thought students drawing their families would give me a similar insight to the insight I received about you guys.

I hope you guys had fun and that you found some benefits in adding art projects to your lesson.

2 thoughts on “Maniac Magee Mini-lesson

  1. I think this class mini-lesson was so much fun. It’s a great way of getting to know students and also having the students get to know you as a teacher. The lesson enables students to think about their lives and relate it to the novel. I personally enjoyed drawing my family members. I even enjoyed hearing our classmates share their family stories. I will definitely will try to incorporate a lesson like this when I teach in the future. JA

  2. I, too, enjoyed this lesson, particularly having to think about my own strange yet wonderful family. I felt compelled to include friends as part of my network of support. This extended family is there for me through thick and thin. Asking students to reflect on their idea of family is the beginning of a vital conversation that that they need to pursue throughout their lives.
    MS

Leave a Reply

