An Almost Top 10 List…

So, in reading When You Reach Me, I was inspired to search out what the Internet had to say about Young Adult Science Fiction, which is how I discovered this curious top 9 list I wanted to share with everyone.  Huffingtonpost created a list of the 9 Best Science Fiction Novels For Young Adults Besides Mockingjay, which really caught my attention.  Don’t get me wrong…I enjoyed the Hunger Games books, but I’d also love to expand students’ Sci-Fi reading lists to include some classics of the genre.

But since this is only a Top 9 list, I felt the need to include the Top Science Fiction Novels for Young Adults I am Most Nostalgic About.  They are not in order of preference, but these are 3 (technically 5 if you split the trilogy up…) Sci-Fi classics I’d recommend to young readers to throw into the mix:

1.  The Tripod Trilogy by John Christopher:

tripods

These are the first sci-fi books I read all on my own, and even though I was fairly young, I think that young adults, especially struggling readers would benefit from reading this series.  If not, it’s an awesome story about the nature of freedom and resistance to oppression with young adult protagonists attempting to overthrow their evil alien overlords!

2.  20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne:

20000 leagues

Ok, so the language may be a bit challenging for students, and it is quite long for some of our more attention-challenged readers.  However, it’s a tale of classic under-the-sea adventure that I found particularly engaging.  I know that when I finished reading it I felt a great sense of accomplishment, and this is something that I think is important for young readers to experience.

3.  Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

bradbury

I thought this cover image was really awesome even though it wasn’t the one that I owned as a young adult.  But the story is incredible and the messages it contains are powerful.  In this story, set in dystopian future, firemen don’t put fires out…they start them.  Their target:  books.  This is a great story about the power and importance of books and the dangers of stifling the transformative power of literature.  Highly, highly recommended!

 

-CK

 

Leave a Reply

