A Beauty-ful Story

Something you should know about me, I love fairy tales. I love retellings of fairy tales. I love tales about fairies. I have fond memories of reading The Blue Fairy Book, and then every subsequent colored fairy book. I really love fairy tales. Sarah J. Mass’s A Court of Thorns and Roses is a phenomenal fairy tale. It’s a gorgeous retelling of the Beauty and the Beast story, but it is so much more.

If you have ever read Sarah J. Mass’s Throne of Glass series, you know that she has a wonderful way with words. I suffer every time I finish one of her books because I know I will have to wait at least a year before I can read it again. In fact, when I finished reading A Court of Thorns and Roses I immediately started it over and read it again. I couldn’t put this book down, and I loved it, the characters, and the world so much I wasn’t ready to be done with it.

Feyre is not your traditional “Beauty” she hunts to keep her family alive, and one day she kills a wolf that turns out to have been a fairy. This is the catalyst that brings her to Tamlin’s estate in the fairy realms. Mistrust turns to friendship, and hate turns to romance. I also love that Feyre is allowed to be a sexual being. No slut-shaming in this novel, and I for one applaud it.

Feyre is not the only well-developed character in this novel, all the characters display range and depth. Even when you think you know how things will progress because you know the origin story, you are constantly shocked as a reader.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I need to go read this book for a third time, however, if you’d like to see what my original reaction to this book looked like check out my friend’s blog, which features a text conversation where we both freaked out about how much we loved it http://asdreamsaremade.com/2015/04/book-tuesday-arc-a-court-of-thorns-and-roses/ JMV

Leave a Reply

