Dr’s Prescription: Read this book

Sarah Mazetti, June 9, 2015

Sarah Mazetti, June 9, 2015

From The New Yorker blog: an article about bibliotherapy. Those of us who read a lot already know what books do for our sense of well-being, and not just because they relieve us of day-to-day concerns. The neuroscience suggests that reading fiction builds empathy. This article suggests that reading fiction also helps us work through big issues in our lives.

For instance, the blog post’s author, Ceridwen Dovey, was worried about how she would fare when faced with the death of a loved one. A bibliotherapist suggested a few novels, and Dovey found herself reading Calvino, Narayan and Saramago.

Hidden in the middle of the article: news about a book of prescriptions for young readers, adapted from the version for adults, The Novel Cure: An A-Z of Literary Remedies.

I’m eager to see what the authors recommend for teens dealing with the usual set of issues (I’m not popular, my best friend is dating the person I’m in love with, my parents don’t get me, I wish I was someone else, I have to hide my real self). I’m even more curious about which unexpected issues the authors will uncover.

Leave a Reply

