“Please lie about this book”

Made it to last night’s book launch. Results:

Lizzie Ross

wewereliars e. lockhart,  We Were Liars (2014)

This post’s title is what Lockhart wrote when she signed my copy of We Were Liars at her book launch last night.

I’m usually willing to comply with authors’ requests, but any lie I told would be a tip off to the truth, because you’d know I was lying.

So: two truths and a lie (your task is to spot which is which).

1. At last night’s book launch, Lockhart had TRY written on the back of her right hand, and AGAIN on the back of her left. She was quirky, lively, at times silly, and never uncool. She was happy to sign not just my copy of this book, but also my copy of Disreputable History (on which she added “WOOF” in a speech bubble coming from the basset hound’s mouth). She is funny, but she can also be serious. Her summer reading list includes AS…

View original post 259 more words

2 thoughts on ““Please lie about this book”

  1. Thanks so much for this review. I’m jealous that you were able to go. I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, and I am super excited to read it now. You really do a great job of “lying about it.” JMV

  2. Hmmmm . . . I think the lie is . . . number 3. There’s just something about it I’m picking up on. I love that Lockhart had “TRY” and “AGAIN” written on her hands. I wasn’t there, but I interpret that as a very humorous and important reminder for a writer during the process of writing. It is so interesting, the things writers do to make their craft exceptional, let alone possible. I wonder what would happen if students explored this aspect of what writers go through to create their works. I think students often think of authors as abstract figures they cannot connect with, as opposed to people with dreams, hopes, struggles, anxieties, etc. People who sometimes struggle to write, just like our students do–and yet continue, driven by some inner artistic desire.

    KB

Leave a Reply

